Soulistic Wellness

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Books for the SOUL! June 27, 2008

Filed under: Books,Healing — soulisticwellness @ 3:01 pm

I finally got a suggestion! Thank you Natalee V. for asking for a list of some good books that are helpful in the journey of life, enlightenment, balance, harmony, happiness, et all! Here they are:


African Holistic Health by Dr. Llaila O. Afrika
Dr. Afrika gives you it all – the truth! Whether you like it or not, this book is a huge resource and gives herbal and vitamin suggestions for various physical challenges from Acne to hypertension to AIDS. It also has a huge amount of history within this book. Having been taught by Dr. Afrika, I am biased, but he is an amazing being!
Check him out: http://www.drafrika.com/

I think the first book I read that really helped me begin transformation from being unhappy and feeling helpless was this wonderful book by Rose Whaley, and the book is called The Book Without a Name: You Read It, You Name It While I read this, I truly became transformed and this sister spoke to me so clearly. This is the story of how Sister Rose Whaley transformed her life, healed herself from cancer, released herself from an abusive relationship and manifested the happy, faithful, loving being that she has always been! This is an empowering read! Check her out at: http://www.akeruradio.com/Sis_Rose_Whaley.html

I usually don’t read super mainstream books, but Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat Pray Loveis an amazing read! Follow this sister’s journey into faith, peace and happiness while observing and enjoying the world. This is the author’s personal journey to 3 different countries and the lessons she learned while in each place. I love that she is so human and writes about her challenges and accepts them and moves on. I think everyone can relate to this woman and I appreciated that so much.

My mom bought for me 2 great books for Xmas last year: Dr. Andrea D. Sullivan’s A Path to Healing and Dr. Jewel Pookrum’s Vitamins and Minerals From A-Z These are both amazing resources. Both of these sisters share truth, knowledge and wisdom in health and healing. They share their journeys as professional doctors as well as lifestyle habits that will enhance our lives. You can learn more about Dr. Sullivan at: http://www.drandreasullivan.com/ and more about Dr. Pookrum at: http://www.everlastinglife.net/people/dr_jewel_pookrum.htm

 

Leave a comment